The next thing of note from the past few weeks’ cooking experiments is in fact a milestone: my first happy encounter with reshaped tofu (which – however much I love tofu itself – is usually not my scene).

When I first read Cindy’s post on soy bombs, I was intrigued, but suspicious. The idea of fried ‘bombs’ reminded me of some dubious-looking potato and chicken bombs we used to get at a corner chicken shop, made of – you guessed it – mashed potato and bits of barbequed chicken, moulded into a tennis-sized ball, rolled in breadcrumbs and deep fried. This fashioning of potato and chicken into a bomb was, I’m sure, a tactic to disguise some culinary shortcoming or other in crumbed, deep-fried goodness.

Despite this memory, I started to think how good it would be to have soy bombs in my life, as a snack, burger filling, alongside salad, and made with the virtuousness of tofu: so one day we just gave these a go. Hooray – these needn’t be doubted at all, as they are tasty, relatively straightforward and totally versatile.

I won’t repeat the recipe here, as I pretty much followed the directions in Cindy’s post (as Cindy helpfully points out, it looks like the original recipe itself has a bit of lineage: for all this I am a grateful beneficiary and claim no credit). However, as my mixture still turned out a bit crumbly, I was fearful that the delicate bombs might not hold up to any frying action (let alone being rolled in flour). So, I added an egg, omitted the flour, and sprayed them with a bit of cooking spray and baked them in a hot oven for about 20-25 minutes, turning just once. And they came out great. We enjoyed them first with some sweet chilli sauce and salad in a wrap. Yum, and the leftovers were just as tasty. Worth a try, you sceptics!