I don’t usually have the budget or the time to look over all the lovely foodie books and magazines I would like to, so I really enjoyed having the chance to leaf through a whole stack of glossy food magazines while travelling a few months ago – for me, definitely one of the perks of not-so-frequent air travel!

This recipe caught my eye as it featured Indian flavours (a cuisine I’m trying to learn more about, and trying to cook from spices rather than bought bases), vegetarian, quick to cook (curry in spirit but cooks with the speed of a stir-fry), and used items that were all currently ready to spring to action in my kitchen (eg the usually forlorn fenugreek).  Hooray!  On the night I ended up cooking it, my fridge/pantry line-up was a bit different from what the original recipe called for – hence the inauthentic addition of tofu – but gosh can I recommend this for a speedy and tasty weeknight meal.  Even in the mixing bowl I was excited by the colours and freshness of the ingredients:

IMG_3985_1

One note of warning: the chilli flavours here aren’t too hot, but add a lovely rounded warmth and is aa key part of the dish in my view.  Best not for a family meal with kiddies (unless yours are braver than mine is).

IMG_3991_1

Quick and perky green bean curry
Adapted from Australian Gourmet Traveller

400g green beans, topped and tailed
150g firm tofu, cubed
1 small red onion, sliced into half moons
10 curry leaves
2 small green chilli, seeded and finely chopped
1 tsp each chilli flakes and ground cumin
1/2 tsp each fenugreek seeds and fennel seeds
1/4 tsp turmeric
1 tbsp vegetable oil
1/2 coconut milk

In a large bowl, mix together all the ingredients except for the oil and coconut milk.

Heat the oil in a wok, and then tip in the green bean mixture.  Cook for about 5 minutes on high until the onion has softened and the beans look bright green.

Tip in the coconut milk, and continue to stir-fry on high until most of the milk has evaporated and the bean mixture is almost glazed with it.  Season with some salt to taste, and serve with rice.

Yield: 2-3 serves.  I would definitely double this next time, as leftovers the next day were still yummy.

