Just a very quick post to report on an improbably tasty discovery: pan-fried gnocchi.  I have long been wary of supermarket gnocchi, and have never made it with any success from scratch at home, so when I chanced on a few internet recipes that descibed a method of cooking them straight from frozen, I was intrigued.   I’m sure you could transform this many different ways with whatever vegetables you have on hand, so let me know how you go.  I’m totally back into gnocchi with this cooking technique.  And even though you could make it into a truly decadent dish by upping the butter quantity to make something more like a burnt-butter sauce, for a weeknight meal that can be on the table in 20 minutes and that uses just one pan and just one big spoon of butter, I’m sold.

img_3697_1

Pan-fried gnocchi with spinach and mushrooms
Adapted from Vegetarian Times

375g ready-made gnocchi (from the fridge, or I used frozen)
150g mushrooms, sliced
150g baby spinach
1 clove garlic, crushed
1 generous tablespoon butter

Melt the butter in a large frying pan, and heat on medium-high until the butter is sizzling.  Tip in the gnocchi all at once and fry, stirring well to coat in the butter.  When bronzed on all sides, remove from the heat and set aside.

Return the pan to the medium heat, and add in the mushrooms.  Fry till just softening, then add the garlic and spinach.  Turn the vegetables over well to wilt the spinach.  When all the spinach is just wilted, return the gnocchi to the pan to heat through.  Season with salt and pepper.

Yield: serves 2-3 for a main

